Ultra Awards 2008

The  second annual Ultratravel 100, a consumer-driven survey in Ultratravel magazine (distributed monthly with The Daily Telegraph in the UK) has announced the following winners:

Tour Operator

Winner – Kuoni www.kuoni.co.uk

Runners-up  
Audley Travel  www.audleytravel.com  
Bales Worldwide  www.balesworldwide.com
Cox & Kings  www.coxandkings.co.uk  
ITC Classics  www.itcclassics.co.uk

Cruise Company

Winner –  Cunard www.cunard.co.uk

Runners-up  
P&O Cruises  www.pocruises.com  
Princess Cruises  www.princess.com  
Royal Caribbean  www.royalcaribbean.com
Silversea www.silversea.com

European Hotel

Winner –  Four Seasons George V, Paris www.fourseasons.com/paris

Runners-up
cipriani, Venice www.hotelcipriani.com
Claridge’s, London www.claridges.co.uk
Danieli, Venice www.hoteldanielivenice.com
Plaza Athénée, Paris www.plaza-athenee-paris.com

Middle East Hotel

Winner – Burj al Arab, Dubai www.burj-al-arab.com

Runners-up
The Chedi, Muscat – www.chedimuscat.com
Four Seasons Hotel Doha www.fourseasons.com/doha
Jumeirah beach hotel, Dubai www.jumeirahbeachhotel.com
Madinat Jumeirah, Dubai www.madinatjumeirah.com

African Indian Ocean Hotel

Winner
Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town www.mountnelson.co.za

Runners-up
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town www.thebay.co.za
Le Prince Maurice, Mauritius www.princemaurice.com
Taj Exotica Resort and Spa, Maldives www.tajhotels.com
Le Touessrok, Mauritius,  www.letouessrokresort.com    

Asian Hotel

Winner –  Raffles Hotel, Singapore www.singapore.raffles.com

Runners-up
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong www.mandarinoriental.com/hongkong
The Oriental, Bangkok www.mandarinoriental.com/bangkok
The  Peninsula, Hong Kong www.hongkong.peninsula.com  
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore www.shangri-la.com/singapore

Australasian Hotel

Winner – Park Hyatt, Sydney www.sydney.park.hyatt.com  

Runners-up
The Charlotte Jane, Christchurch www.charlotte-jane.co.nz  
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney www.fourseasons.com/sydney
The Observatory, Sydney www.observatoryhotel.com.au
Shangri-La Hotel, Sydney www.shangri-la.com/sydney

North American Hotel

Winner – Four Season Hotel New York www.fourseasons.com/newyorkfs

Runners-up
The Carlyle, New York www.thecarlyle.com
Le Château Frontenac, Quebec www.fairmont.com/frontenac
Mandarin Oriental, New York www.mandarinoriental.com/newyork
Waldorf Astoria, New York www.waldorfastoria.hilton.com

South American Hotel

Winner – Alvear Palace, Buenos Aires, www.alvearpalace.com

Runners-up  
Copacabana Palace, Rio de Janeiro www.copacabanapalace.com.br
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires www.fourseasons.com/buenosaires
Hotel Monasterio, Cuzco www.monasterio.orient-express.com
Mandarin Oriental Riviera Maya, Yucatan www.mandarinoriental.com/rivieramaya

Caribbean Hotel

Winner –  Sandy Lane, Barbados www.sandylane.com

Runners-up
Carlisle Bay, Antigua www.carlisle-bay.com
Cobblers Cove, Barbados www.cobblerscove.com
Jumby Bay, Antigua www.jumbybayresort.com
Raffles Resort, Canouan Island, Grenadines www.canouan.raffles.com

European Airline

Winner – British Airways www.ba.com

Runners-up
Air France www.airfrance.com
KLM Royal Dutch Airlines www.klm.com
Lufthansa www.lufthansa.com
Virgin Atlantic www.virgin-atlantic.com

Middle East Airline

Winner  –  Emirates www.emirates.com  

Runners-up
Etihad Airways www.etihadairways.com  
Gulf Air www.gulfairco.com    
Qatar Airways www.qatarairways.com
Royal Jordanian www.rj.com

African Airline

Winner –  South African Airways www.flysaa.com

Runners-up
Air Namibia www.airnamibia.com
Ethiopian Airways www.ethiopianairlines.com
Kenya Airways www.kenya-airways.com
Royal Air Maroc www.royalairmaroc.com    

Asian Airline

Winner – Singapore Airlines www.singaporeair.com

Runners-up
Cathay Pacific www.cathaypacific.com
Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com
Royal Brunei Airlines www.bruneiair.com  
Thai Airways www.thaiair.com

North American Airline

Winner – American Airlines www.aa.com

Runners-up
Air Canada www.aircanada.com
Continental Airlines www.continental.com
Delta Airlines www.delta.com
United Airlines www.united.com

Worldwide Airport

Winner – Changi, Singapore www.changiairport.com  

Runners-up
Bangkok Suvarnabhumi, Thailand www.airportsuvarnabhumi.com
Doha International, Qatar www.dohaairport.com  
Dubai International www.dubaiairport.com
Chek Lap Kok, Hong Kong www.hongkongairport.com

Worldwide Spa

Winner – Chiva-Som, Thailand www.chivasom.com

Runners-up  
Banyan Tree  Phuket www.banyantree.com
Champneys, United Kingdom www.champneys.com  
Pangkor Laut Resort, Malaysia www.pangkorlautresort.com
Thermae Bath Spa, United Kingdom www.thermaebathspa.com    

Worldwide Ski Resort

Winner – Zermatt www.zermatt.ch

Runners-up
Aspen, Colorado www.aspensnowmass.com  
St Moritz www.stmoritz.ch
Val D’Isère www.valdisere.com
Whistler, British Columbia www.tourismwhistler.com

Worldwide Destination

Winner
Australia www.australia.com

Runners-up
Italy www.italiantouristboard.co.uk  
New Zealand www.newzealand.com
South Africa www.southafrica.net  
United States of America www.visitusa.org.uk    

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. irene says:

    Great ot see Australia win the worldwide destination although other favourites of mine in Italy and NEw Zeland in runner up positions. Also good to see the Park Hyatt Sydney win the Australian Hotel, as i have said before it is a fabulous hotel in the best location in sydney. can’t praise it enough.

    Great to see emirates win as well.

  2. Great post!! Happy to see quite a few british companies in the list. Also some of my favorite countries like Australia and New Zeland feature among top travel destinations.

Leave a Reply



Your actual name, not your online persona, website name, company name or keywords, otherwise your comment won't be published





Please do not advertise and make sure your comment adds value, otherwise we regret that it won't be published. Links are not allowed here - if you would like to advertise, please contact us for details.

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.

Our readers also enjoyed these posts…